Item added to your basket.

Straight Songs Of Sorrow
Mark Lanegan
Heavenly Recordings
Catalogue Number
Release Date
15 May 2020
  • Vinyl, 2×LP, Limited Coloured

    Pre-order $27.99

    180g crystal clear vinyl

    Estimated shipping: 14 May 2020

  • CD

    Pre-order $11.99

    Estimated shipping: 14 May 2020

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Released: 15 May 2020

Following the success of last year’s ‘Somebody’s Knocking’ LP, Mark Lanegan has announced the news of his new solo album, ‘Straight Songs Of Sorrow’, released 8th May.

The album, which is closely aligned to his forthcoming memoir, “Sing Backwards And Weep”, features guest appearances from Greg Dulli, Warren Ellis, John Paul Jones, Ed Harcourt and more.

The first pressing will be a crystal clear vinyl edition. Double Vinyl – Gatefold - Downloads available with each LP purchase. Standard CD also available.

When considering any great work of art, it’s natural to wonder what might have inspired it: ‘the story behind the song’. Mark Lanegan’s new album, ‘Straight Songs Of Sorrow’, flips that equation. Here are 15 songs inspired by a story: his life story, as documented by his own hand in his new memoir, ‘Sing Backwards And Weep’.

The book is a brutal, nerve-shredding read, thanks to Lanegan’s unsparing candour in recounting a journey from troubled youth in eastern Washington, through his drug-stained existence amid the ’90s Seattle rock scene, to an unlikely salvation at the dawn of the 21st century. There’s death and tragedy, yet also humour and hope, thanks to the tenacity which impels its host, even at his lowest moments.

‘Straight Songs Of Sorrow’ combines musical trace elements from early Mark Lanegan albums with the synthesized constructs of later work. The album feels both definitive and unique, a culmination of its creator’s arc yet also indicative of the energy that drives him onto future horizons. No wonder Lanegan is proud.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 I Wouldn't Want To Say Mark Lanegan 5:46
  2. 2 Apples From A Tree Mark Lanegan 1:55
  3. 3 This Game of Love Mark Lanegan 4:48
  4. 4 Ketamine Mark Lanegan 2:41
  5. 5 Bleed All Over Mark Lanegan 3:36
  6. 6 Churchbells, Ghosts Mark Lanegan 4:54
  7. 7 Internal Hourglass Discussion Mark Lanegan 3:49
  8. 8 Stockholm City Blues Mark Lanegan 3:39
  9. 9 Skeleton Key Mark Lanegan 7:05 Buy
  10. 10 Daylight In The Nocturnal House Mark Lanegan 3:06
  11. 11 Ballad of A Dying Rover Mark Lanegan 4:37
  12. 12 Hanging On (For DRC) Mark Lanegan 2:10
  13. 13 Burying Ground Mark Lanegan 4:46
  14. 14 At Zero Below Mark Lanegan 4:41
  15. 15 Eden Lost And Found Mark Lanegan 2:46

Mark Lanegan

--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.