Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
ATO Records
Catalogue Number
Release Date
April 14, 2023

Produced by Sean Ono Lennon, Temples’ fourth full-length album takes place in a mystical setting, an impossibly utopic island dreamed up by singer/guitarist James Bagshaw, bassist Tom Walmsley, keyboardist/guitarist Adam Smith, and drummer Rens Ottink. With its resplendent collage of psychedelia and krautrock and time-bending dream-pop, Exotico brings that world to life in crystalline detail, all while exploring an entire spectrum of existential themes: impermanence, mortality, our connection with nature and the wild immensity of the mind. Equal parts cerebral and celestial, the result is a truly immersive body of work, fully affirming Kettering-bred Temples as one of today’s most forward-thinking and endlessly inventive rock bands.

Mixed by Dave Fridmann (Beach House, Spoon, The Flaming Lips) and mainly recorded at Lennon’s studio in upstate New York, Exotico continues the collaboration begun on Temples’ Lennon-produced 2020 single “Paraphernalia.”

Although Temples created portions of Exotico at their home studio back in England, their 12 days of sessions at Lennon’s studio marked a significant departure from the self-contained approach they’d adhered to since their debut album Sun Structures (a 2014 release The Quietus likened to a series of “woozy daydreams that will embed themselves further in with each listen”).

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Liquid Air 5:56 Buy

    Liquid Air

  2. 2 Gamma Rays 4:20 Buy

    Gamma Rays

  3. 3 Exotico 4:03 Buy


  4. 4 Sultry Air 0:40 Buy

    Sultry Air

  5. 5 Cicada 4:23 Buy


  6. 6 Oval Stones 3:33 Buy

    Oval Stones

  7. 7 Slow Days 5:14 Buy

    Slow Days

  8. 8 Crystal Hall 2:51 Buy

    Crystal Hall

  9. 9 Head In The Clouds 1:20 Buy

    Head In The Clouds

  10. 10 Giallo 3:55 Buy


Show All Tracks 16


--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences