Item added to your cart.

The Casca Trilogy
Doc Records
Release Date
May 12, 2023

For fans of: Edge Of Sanity, Paradise Lost, Dismember, Tiamat, Katatonia, Paganizer, Amorphis, Benediction, Cemetary, Unleashed, Sentenced & Revolting.

Furnace was formed in 2019 by Swedish metal-master-guitarist Rogga Johansson (Paganizer, Revolting, Stygian Dark, Massacre, Heir Corpse One, To The Gallows, Ribspreader, Warmagic, and many many more) and bass-player Peter Svensson (Assassin's Blade, Void Moon) based on their mutual love for horror fantasy concept albums. Musically, Furnace follows in the strong tradition of melodic death metal in the style of Edge Of Sanity and Cemetary, combined with early 90’s goth/doom metal-elements of bands like Paradise Lost and Amorphis. Johansson and Svensson are joined by Lars Demoke on drums, and the albums also features guest vocals by Dave Ingram (Benediction, Bolt Thrower).

”The Casca Trilogy“ is the band's fourth full-length release, following "Black Stone Church" (2020), ”Dark Vistas“ (2020) and ”Stellarum“ (2022). Keeping with Furnace tradition the album is a full-out concept album covering three discs. Thus, the album’s concept story spans three different historical ages, one for each disc. The story follows Casca Rufio Longinus, a Roman legionary who kills Jesus on the cross, is treated as a pariah by all and is cursed to live forever as a mercenary and transferred to the northern parts of the Roman empire where he battles the Germanic barbarians. The second cd features Casca ± 1.000 years later, as a guard on a French monastery in England, attacked by Vikings, and the third cd sees Casca another 10 centuries later, as officer in the British Army during World War I, facing the horrors of trench warfare.


CD I: ”Legionary“:

  1. Legionary
  2. Another Execution
  3. Until We Meet Again
  4. Shadows On A Moonless Night
  5. Brink Of Mortality
  6. Cursed With Life
  7. The Savage North
  8. Where Life And Death Unite
  9. The Evermore
  10. Sworn To Wander

CD II: ”Thralls And Blot“

  1. Where The Sea Meets The Sky
  2. Wrath Of The North
  3. Death By Decree
  4. Thrall
  5. Beneath The Sky (Our Torment)
  6. Midvinterblot
  7. In Hell Together
  8. Blood Eagle
  9. Land Of The Pettr (Pictland)
  10. Only Time

CD III: ”The Guns Of August“

  1. Two Thousand Years
  2. Visions Of Glory
  3. Trench Warfare
  4. P.O.W.s
  5. In The Eyes Of A Dreary Winter
  6. Armistice
  7. A War Of Attrition
  8. Kill Or Capture
  9. Alone With Bullets
  10. War Is My Destiny
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences