Item added to your cart.

Display Artist
Bella Union
Catalogue Number
Release Date
December 1, 2023
  • Vinyl 1×LP

    Pre-order $29.99
    Read More


    • 140g Black Vinyl
    • 3mm Spined Sleeve
    • Printed Inner Sleeve

    Estimated release date: December 1, 2023

  • CD

    Pre-order $12.99
    Read More


    Estimated release date: December 1, 2023

  • Download

    Pre-order $9.99
    Select format

    320 kbps, LAME-encoded

    Available: December 1, 2023

Bella Union are thrilled to release the long-awaited debut solo album Albion by Harp, the adopted name of Tim Smith, formerly the singer and principal songwriter of Texan legends Midlake.

The road to Albion might have been long and winding, and bumpy to boot, but the music Harp has created is steeped in sublime melody, mood, drama and detail, its ten songs and two mood-matching instrumentals framed by a mesh of acoustic/electric guitars, soft shades of keyboards and Smith’s gorgeous voice; in other words, the quintessence of what drew people in the first place to his work with Midlake.

But Albion has starker, darker hues than Smith is typically renowned for, which lifts Albion to new heights in his canon; likewise, the level of personal revelation. These are songs about the human condition, from love - both lost and found – to faith, anxiety to joy, fear to acceptance, all couched in a highly distinct poetic language.

Since leaving Midlake, Smith has performed just once, with Lost Horizons (at London’s Festival Hall in 2018), the collective co-founded by Bella Union boss (and former Cocteau Twin) Simon Raymonde, after Smith had contributed vocals and lyrics to “She Led Me Away” for the collective’s 2017 debut Ojalá. Smith subsequently went on to contribute vocals and lyrics for the track “Grey Tower” on Lost Horizons’ second album, In Quiet Moments. Those were all-too-rare sightings of Smith, but Albion’s day has come, and in a manner of speaking, in many aspects of his life, Smith has finally come home.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 The Pleasant Grey 1:49
  2. 2 I Am The Seed 3:37
  3. 3 A Fountain 4:09
  4. 4 Daughters of Albion 3:01
  5. 5 Chrystals 1:37
  6. 6 Country Cathedral Drive 5:06
  7. 7 Shining Spires 3:56
  8. 8 Silver Wings 3:45
  9. 9 Seven Long Suns 3:55
  10. 10 Moon 1:14
  11. 11 Throne of Amber 4:10
  12. 12 Herstmonceux 4:04
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences